Menu

Events

Through the Canadian Pacific Project there are a number of exciting new ways to learn more about railways. Below are some dates for the diary (please note this page will be updated):

Eastleigh Works Tour

It is with regret that unfortunately due to the site being particularly busy with major roofing works underway, we are unable to offer tours in Eastleigh Works until further notice.  Those booked on tours will be notified in due course.

Canadian Pacific – Talk and Tour

Enjoy an evening at Ropley with a talk on the Canadian Pacific Project along with a guided tour around our engineering works. FREE (donations welcome)

Dates for next year coming soon.

Behind the Scenes Tour

Come and explore behind the scenes at our engineering hub at Ropley. Find out what it takes to restore and maintain steam locomotives, and get up close to these magnificent engines.

Tours take place at 11.30/ 12.30/ 1.30/ 2.30/ 3.20

Dates for 2017!

  • Saturday 18th- Sunday 19th March 2017
  • Saturday 29th April 2017
  • Friday 2nd June 2017
  • Friday 28th July 2017
  • Monday 21st August 2017
  • Friday 25th August 2017
  • Saturday 16th- Sunday 17th September 2017 (Open Weekend)
  • Saturday 7th October 2017
  • Saturday 28th- Sunday 29th October 2017 (Wizard Weekend)

FREE to passengers

Project Showcase

A weekend to celebrate engineering at the railway.

Come and explore the many restoration projects underway here at the Watercress Line. Meet a range of different socities based at the railway, find out about their engines and ask about their progress. Speak to our staff about the project to restore our flagship steam engine, Canadian Pacific and find out about its fascinating history.

Includes Behind the Scenes tours of the workshops.

Based at Ropley

Dates for 2017!

  • Friday 17th-Sunday 19th February 2017 (Steam Gala)
  • Saturday 1st-Sunday 2nd July 2017 (50th Anniversary Gala)
  • Saturday 8th-Sunday 9th July 2017 (50th Anniversary Gala)
  • Saturday 16th-Sunday 17th September 2017 (Open Weekend)
  • Friday 20th-Sunday 22nd October 2017

FREE to passengers. 11am - 4pm

Family Fun Days

Hands-on and creative activities. Mini workshop tours. Find out about our flagship steam locomotive

Education Room, Ropley

Dates for 2017!

  • Monday 29th- Tuesday 30th May 2017
  • Monday 24th- Tuesday 25th July 2017
  • Monday 28th August 2017

Free to passengers (show your ticket)

How to book

Via email: outreach.mhr@hotmail.com

By phone: 01962 733810