Menu

Events

Through the Canadian Pacific Project there are a number of exciting new ways to learn more about railways. Below are some dates for the diary (please note this page will be updated):

Eastleigh Works Tour

It is with regret that unfortunately due to the site being particularly busy with major roofing works underway, we are unable to offer tours in Eastleigh Works until further notice.  Those booked on tours will be notified in due course.

Behind the Scenes Tour

Come and explore behind the scenes at our engineering hub at Ropley. Find out what it takes to restore and maintain steam locomotives, and get up close to these magnificent engines.

Tours take place at 11.30/ 12.30/ 1.30/ 2.30/ 3.20

Dates for 2018!

  • Friday 9th- Sunday 11th February (Gala)
  • Friday 16th - Saturday 17th February
  • Saturday 17th- Sunday 18th March
  • Saturday 14th April
  • Saturday 9th June
  • Monday 30th July
  • Monday 13th August
  • Monday 20th August
  • Friday 24th August
  • Saturday 15th- Sunday 16th September (Open Weekend/ Heritage Open Days)
  • Friday 19th- Sunday 21st October (Gala)
  • Saturday 27th- Sunday 28th October (Wizard Weekend)

FREE to passengers

Project Showcase

A weekend to celebrate engineering at the railway.

Come and explore the many restoration projects underway here at the Watercress Line. Meet a range of different socities based at the railway, find out about their engines and ask about their progress. Speak to our staff about the project to restore our flagship steam engine, Canadian Pacific and find out about its fascinating history.

Includes Behind the Scenes tours of the workshops.

Based at Ropley

Dates for 2018!

  • Friday 9th - Sunday 11th February (Gala)
  • Saturday 15th- Sunday 16th September (Open Weekend/ Heritage Open Days)
  • Friday 19th - Sunday 21st October (Gala)

FREE to passengers. 11am - 4pm

Family Fun Days

Hands-on and creative activities. Mini workshop tours. Find out about our flagship steam locomotive

Education Room, Ropley

Dates for 2018!

  • Monday 28th - Tuesday 29th May
  • Saturday 28th - Sunday 29th July
  • Monday 27th August

Free to passengers (show your ticket)

How to book

Via email: outreach.mhr@hotmail.com

By phone: 01962 733810